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In our latest installment of The Roving Eye, our expert tennis official, Tony 
Hernandez, gives us his take on best practices when players can’t agree on the 
score. This is what Tony has to say:

WHAT IS THE SCORE?  I LOST TRACK. 
How NOT to lose the score.  Server ALWAYS, in a strong enough voice that 
receiver can easily hear, calls the score before they begin their service motion.  
Receiver NEVER attempts to return a serve if they aren’t sure what the score is, 
and/or cannot hear the server calling the score.  Easy.
So, what happens if there is a scoring dispute, and both/all players are confused 
and not agreeing at all about how to get to the “correct” score?
The 2023 Friend At Court rulebook, page 41 reads – “… listed in the order of 
preference:” 
	 First – “Count all points and games agreed upon by the 	players and 		
	 replay only disputed points or games;” 
	 Second – “Play from a score mutually agreeable to all players;”.
Finally, if the first two methods don’t work, the final method is to “Spin a racket 
or toss a coin.”  This last method seems very drastic to me, and is not used very 
often, even by officials.  Someone is going to be VERY unhappy about the result.
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Most folks, on their own volition, use the 
second method – just find the place in the 
match that all agree on the score.  That 
seems to be simple and easy.  But if I am on 
the court, or asked to come over to help, 
I will start with the first method, just play 
ONE point to determine the accurate score.  
This method is the most fair (but confusing) 
rule.  You could have played 3 or 4 points, in 
good faith, after there was a disputed point.  
As a player, I want credit for those 3 or 4 
points, and wouldn’t want them “erased” 
because we go back to “15 – Love” at the 
beginning of the game.

So, here is how it “usually” works.  First 
point won by server – Player A.  15 – Love.  
Second point – called out by Player A, but 
the Out Call was not heard by Player B, and 
B thinks they won the point, and that the 
score is 15 – 15.  Player A, the server, now 
stops calling out the score before they 
serve.  Play continues, and the server is 
thinking 30 - Love.  Then B wins the next 

two points.  Then A wins the 5th point.   
B wins the next point, and assumes that 
they have won the game.  A says, “No, it is 
Duece”.  Then the argument begins.  A says, 
“On the second point, I called the ball out, 
I won the second point.”  B says, “I didn’t 
hear an out call, and you didn’t call any 
scores after that point”.  Are you still  
with me?

If they both agree on all points, EXCEPT 
the second point, then they only have to 
replay the second point.  The first point, 
and last 4 points, played in good faith, stay.  
So, when the 2nd point is replayed, there 
is no score announced.  It is just a replay 
of the 2nd point – and played on the Ad 
side.  AFTER the 2nd point is replayed, it 
will either be Game to Player B, if they win 
the replay.  Or, Duece, if Player A wins the 
replayed point.  Then, you continue on to 
the rest of the match.  Confusing, yes, but 
accurate, the most fair, and the first method 
of choice in the rulebook.  ■


